In Connecticut, driving or operating under the influence (OUI) of alcohol or drugs is illegal. Typically referred to as a DUI or DWI, OUI charges carry heavy fines, jail time and may result in the temporary or permanent suspension of your driver's license. At the Hartford law offices of Rome McGuigan, P.C., our attorneys help clients stay out of jail, keep their criminal and driving records clean, and save their driver's licenses.
First Offense DUI/DWI Defense
If you have been charged with your first DUI offense, you are facing the possibility of large fines, a suspended driver's license and jail time. Convictions carry mandatory two-day jail sentences that can range up to six months in duration, fines up to $1,000 and a license suspension.
Commercial drivers and underage drivers are held to strict zero tolerance standards and face harsher penalties when charged with DUIs. Repeated DUI charges also result in steeper penalties.
DUI Arrests: How To Deal With The DMV
In addition to criminal DUI penalties, the Connecticut Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) will also impose administrative penalties on those arrested for a DUI.
In Connecticut, everyone who drives has given his or her implied consent to be given a blood alcohol test (BAC) or Breathalyzer. Failure to take the breath test will result in an automatic six-month suspension of your driving privileges. If you do submit to a BAC test and you are above the legal limit, your driver's license could be suspended for 90 to 120 days, depending on the level of drugs or alcohol in your system. You have seven days to request a hearing in front of the DMV to contest the suspension of your license.
If you have been charged with a DWI/DUI, you need experienced criminal defense lawyers protecting your interests. Contact Rome McGuigan, P.C., at 860-560-8037 or toll free at 866-558-6182.